Elections: How to register, when and where to vote

2024 election dates

  • Presidential Primary: Tuesday, March 5, 2024
  • Special Election: Tuesday, April 9, 2024
  • Primary Election: Tuesday, August 13, 2024
  • General Election: Tuesday, November 5, 2024

How to register to vote

  • Online: Visit the Minnesota Secretary of State website to register online.
  • In person: Download a paper form or pick up a registration form and return at the Auditor-Treasurer’s Office, Freeborn County Government Center, 411 South Broadway Ave. Return the completed form to the same location.
  • Election Day: Register to vote at your polling place on Election Day.


When and where to vote

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on election days. The City of Albert Lea is divided into 6 wards. To see which ward you live in:


Ward 1: Freeborn County Fairgrounds, Fairlane Building, 1105 Bridge Ave.

Ward 2: First Lutheran Church, 301 Clark St. W.

Ward 3: United Methodist Church, 702 South Highway 69

Ward 4: Grace Lutheran Church, 918 Garfield Ave.

Ward 5: Albert Lea National Guard Armory, 410 Prospect Ave.

Ward 6: Assembly of God Church, 1540 South Shore Drive

Absentee voting

The Freeborn County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office oversees absentee voting.

Absentee ballots are available 46 days before the State Primary and General Elections. The Auditor-Treasurer’s Office must receive a completed absentee ballot application before issuing a ballot to a voter. Absentee ballots must be returned to the Auditor-Treasurer’s Office no later than 8 p.m. on Election Day to be counted. Mail or bring ballots to the Freeborn County Government, 411 S. Broadway Ave., Albert Lea, MN  56007.

Voters may also cast an absentee ballot in person during the 46-day absentee period at the Freeborn County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office, 411 South Broadway Ave., Albert Lea. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, except legal holidays. Also, the office is open the Saturday before each election from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. for absentee voting. Hours will change June 1.

For more information

Contact City Clerk Daphney Maras at 507-377-4335 or [email protected].