Albert Lea is a Charter form of government with a Council-Manager plan. Citizens elect the City Council, which consists of one Council member for each of the city’s six wards and a Mayor. The Mayor is a member of the City Council and ceremonial leader of the city. Council members serve staggered, four-year terms. The Mayor serves a four year term. The City Council hires the City Manager who oversees the city’s day-to-day operations.