Filings for Albert Lea City Council close with full slate of candidates

June 1, 2022
For immediate release
Media contact: City Clerk Daphney Maras at 507-377-4335 or [email protected]

Filings for the Albert Lea City Council closed May 31 with a full slate of candidates. Albert Lea will have a new mayor after incumbent Vern Rasmussen Jr. has decided to step down after serving as mayor since   2012 and as ward 1 councilor before that. Ward 1 will have a new councilor after incumbent Rich Murray filed for mayor. And Ward 6 will have a new city councilor after long-time incumbent Al “Minnow” Brooks has decided not to run again.

Here is the slate of candidates:


  • Ryon McCamish
  • Rich Murray (incumbent Ward 1 councilor)

Ward 1

  • Rachel Christensen
  • Nicholas Nesse

Ward 2

  • Larry Baker (incumbent)
  • Brian Beasely

Ward 4

  • Reid Olson (incumbent)
  • Sherri Rasmussen

Ward 6

  • Brian “BJ” Anderson
  • Carmen McColley
  • Nick Ronnenberg

Because there are three candidates for Ward 6, they will face off in the Aug. 9 primary with the top two vote-getters moving on to the Nov. 8 election.


The City of Albert Lea’s mission is to deliver exceptional services that enhance the quality of life for current and future generations.