Filings open today for 5 of 7 Albert Lea City Council seats

Filings open May 17 for five of the seven seats on the Albert Lea City Council, including mayor.

Recently, Mayor Vern Rasmussen Jr. announced that he will not seek re-election. Rasmussen has served as mayor since 2012 and as ward 1 councilor for six years before that.

“The best thing about being mayor is the people, and working together to move Albert Lea forward. Serving on the council leads to a deeper knowledge of our community and a greater appreciation for our people. Our people are amazing,” he said. “Being mayor is about listening, solving problems and caring for our community as a whole.”

In addition to mayor, the following are up for election: ward 1, 2, 4 and 6 city council seats, now held by Rich Murray, Larry Baker, Reid Olson and Al “Minnow” Brooks, respectively.

Although ward 1 voters elected Rich Murray only two years ago, the seat is up for election this year due to redistricting. Some streets have shifted from ward 1 to ward 2 to help even out the population of each ward. The councilor elected for ward 1 this year will serve a two-year term while the other four seats will each serve one four-year term. This will restore the timeline that staggers open council seats to prevent all of them being up for election at the same time.

Because the mayor position represents the community as a whole, candidates may live anywhere within city limits. For the other seats, councilors represent specific wards and must live within those ward boundaries. A map of wards is available on the City website:

As required by Minnesota law, candidates must:

  • Be eligible to vote in Minnesota
  • Have not filed for another office at the upcoming primary or general election
  • Be 21 years of age or more upon assuming office
  • Have maintained residence in their ward for at least 30 days before the general election

To file for office, candidates need to complete an affidavit of candidacy and pay a $25 fee at the City Clerk’s office on the third floor of City Hall, 221 E. Clark St. For more information about filing, contact City Clerk Daphney Maras at 507-377-4335 or [email protected].

Filings close May 31 with the general election on Nov. 8.


The City of Albert Lea’s mission is to deliver exceptional services that enhance the quality of life for current and future generations.